Ambient Music

You wrote:

What exactly is the purpose of the ambient music that plays on the fourth floor of the library? I find this music to be extremely distracting and irritating and would like to know what its purpose is.

There are various academic departments in the same building and there is even a daycare on the 5th floor of the McConnell Library Building, so you may have heard music emanating from somewhere on the fifth floor. I am certain that the Library is not the source of the music. If you hear it again, can you let a library staff member know? We can try to figure out where the noise is coming from.

3 thoughts on “Ambient Music

  1. Anonymous

    To be more specific, it is not ambient music but a strange droning sequence of 3 or 4 notes that sounds like it would come from some kind of machinery. It can be heard by the library personnel elevator on the fourth floor and around the back side of those surrounding bookshelves. I agree that it is VERY distracting and I often have to listen to headphones. It’s too bad because that is my favourite part of the library to study. It would be really nice if you could find the source of this mystery noise, even if it is just to tell us what it is because my friends and I have been baffled for a number of years.

  2. jeremy dabrowski

    I think it’s so beautiful- I’ve been wondering too.
    That music is actually what prompted me to search this blog…
    What is it?

  3. Anonymous

    It does have a beauty to it but it is extremely distracting and particularly noticeable late at night. I have heard it on opposite ends of the fourth floor. Apparently this is a problem that has been going on for more than two years. The fact that nothing has been done is pretty ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

