Frustration with Libraries’ workstations

You wrote:

Windows 7 on the library stations is particularly frustrating and limiting to use. Relegated to IE only, which seems to crash whenever I attempt to load anything other than the library website is challenging. Flash and other features either fail to load, or require administrative rights to enable.  This is a major challenge when attempting to complete coursework for online classes that has embedded video content. Attempting to install any other browser is also limited. It recently took IE longer to load the library webpage than it did for me to find Firefox online, and install it on the computer (though, of course, once I log out it is removed from the hard drive).

IE forces you to only use Windows products, seemingly, though as previous posts have highlighted, that’s only if you are able to find them.

The current condition of internet access at the library is frustrating. Either we take our chances with the spotty and frequently dropping wifi within the library on our own devices, or we’re relegated to slogging through cumbersome set-ups on restricted machines that lack even basic functionality.

The wifi has been so spotty that I’ve been trying to use the workstations, but with WIndows 7 configured as it is, it borders on useless for anything other than searching the library catalog, and you already have stations for that.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.  I am sorry to hear that you have been having problems using the Libraries’ workstations.  The next time you are having trouble with one of the Libraries’ workstations, please do not hesitate to ask for help at the Reference Desk.  If the reference service is unavailable, please send us an email, as you have done, including the following information in your message:

•  Library name
•  Workstation number
•  URL which crashed Internet Explorer (IE)
•  What were the attempted actions which required administrative permissions
•  URL of online course content which could not be accessed

These types of complaints are taken seriously and investigated but without the necessary information to troubleshoot, we can only ask for more detail.

7 thoughts on “Frustration with Libraries’ workstations

  1. Anonymous

    Library : Main branch downtown
    Workstation #, in this instance, w220
    url: https://www.econcordia.com/home/Profile/Login.aspx
    ^got to the login screen this time at least.
    administration permissions required from previous session were to set default browser as anything other than IE, or to install flash, which is required to view the video and other content in the online class, none of which is accessible.

  2. C

    Thank you for posting your reply and the subsequent follow up.
    I may have neglected to mention in my post that the videos required flash, ….Thank you for your time.

    Thanks for your help, i do appreciate it.

  3. libsuggestions Post author

    The email address you have provided is not working, so I will respond here. Would it be possible for you to go to the Reference Desk before 5pm? We tried to replicate what you are reporting but we had no trouble viewing the videos. It would be best if a staff member was there to see exactly what the problem is. If you cannot make it to the library before 5pm, please let me know and I will try to arrange something.
    I hope that we can find a solution to this problem so that you can continue with your coursework.

  4. C

    I approached a Reference Librarian yesterday afternoon and they were gracious enough to accompany me to a workstation where I encountered the exact same difficulties which I have described throughout these posts…..

  5. C

    Tone always seems completly out of whack when it comes to posting and emails, so if it seems abrupt, its not intended to me. My intent in my post was to simply say that I was fortunate to have the help of a reference librarian who was witness to my attempts to perform the same tasks i’ve described in previous posts, using the recomended posted steps, none of which were succesful.

  6. libsuggestions Post author

    Hello, first, let me assure you that there is nothing wrong with your tone. 🙂 It is perfectly understandable that you would be frustrated with this situation.

    Unfortunately, I think that for now, I cannot go any further with your question. I have forwarded it to the “Ask a Librarian” service. So, if you continue to have problems, I suggest that you report them here: http://library.concordia.ca/help/questions/ . Please make sure that you provide them with contact information. (The email you gave me does not work).

    It could also be that there is an issue with the way the video was uploaded to the econcordia site. Have you contacted them? Their coordinates are at: http://econcordia.com/home/contacts.aspx .

    I sincerely hope that soon everything will work out. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

