Scent-free library?

You wrote:

This is my fourth and final year at Concordia, and I continue to battle the strong scents of perfume and cologne lingering in the library. The strong smells inhibit my studying and give me headaches. I don’t imagine I’m the only one with this experience. I recently spent some time at Dalhousie University in Halifax, and was thrilled to see that the school has become a ‘scent free zone’. I wonder if we could introduce the ‘scent free zone’ into the Concordia library. Thanks!

First of all, congratulations on making it to your final year!  🙂

Thank you for your email regarding this sensitive topic.  For everyone else, you can take a look at Dalhousie’s scent-free policy here.  I think it would be difficult to implement such a policy in just one area, such as the Libraries.  It would have to be university-wide, (as is the case at Dalhousie).  I searched the Concordia University website and our own Sustainable Concordia, in their Sustainable Event Guide encourages organizers to make their events scent free.

 

Leave a Reply

