Lack of space at Concordia Library

You wrote:

It took me 3 hours to find a study spot this weekend.  3. Hours. Because any and all students from other universities are allowed here. I have never felt like concordia has failed me to this degree before. I pay my tuition. I want to pass my classes. I pay for the resources to pass these classes. My friend that was searching with me, another paying concordia student, had a severe anxiety attack because of it. We went to BOTH campuses and not one spot to be had. I can’t believe there is such a blatant disregard for Concordia’s own students. I have a final Tomorrow and wasted my day trying to study.

Thank you for your message.  We are sorry that it took you so long to find a place to study this weekend.  This week was record-breaking for us in terms of library attendance.  Unfortunately, over the years, the Library size has not increased proportionately to the increase in student enrollment.  We hope that when the Webster Library Transformation is completed, this will be less of an occurrence.

Regarding your comment about non-Concordia students using the library, in the past, when we checked ID cards at the door, we found that the vast majority of library users were in fact our own students.  Furthermore, when we start checking ids, our sister institutions also start checking for ids, thus, restricting access to their libraries. We also posted a blog about this issue back in October: https://libsuggestions.wordpress.com/2016/10/17/webster-library-as-a-public-space/ 

On this webpage, http://library.concordia.ca/locations/study-spaces.php , there are links to listings of study spaces outside the library.  Also, depending on where you live, you may want to consider visiting a public library.  You can browse for public libraries near your home at this website:  http://cbq.banq.qc.ca/cbq

Once again, we are sorry that you had a frustrating experience finding a place to study this weekend.  We hope your exam went well.

 

Leave a Reply

